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Scoring a city with Goods symbols
Whenever you or another player completes a city featuring Goods tokens, 
the following occurs:  
1.) You score the city as usual. 
2.)  Then, you give the player who completed the city by placing the last tile 

the depicted Goods (that player is considered that city’s trader). This can 
be any player (the presence of meeples in the city has no impact on this). 
This player receives one Goods token from the supply for each 
corresponding symbol in the city.

Important: It does not matter if the player who placed the last tile had any 
knights in the city, or if any knights were present in the city; it is always the 
player who placed the last tile that receives the Goods tokens from that city.

Place your collected Goods tokens faceup in front of you.

3. Scoring a feature

 Blue scores 10 points for this city.  
Since you are that city’s trader,  

you get 1 Wine token and 2 Grain tokens.

You have just completed this city. 

THE GOODS TOKENS

The Goods tokens only have an impact on step 3. Scoring a feature.  
Steps 1. Placing a tile and 2. Placing a meeple are unaffected by them.

The monastery 
splits the roads  
and fields into 
3 separate roads 
and 3 separate 
fields.

This tile features 3 city 
sections. There is also 
a field in the middle that 
may be occupied by 
a farmer.

One road ends at the city, while the other ends at 
the small cottage.  
The roads split the field into 3 separate fields.

Goods tokens are scored at the end of the game.

During final scoring, Goods tokens are scored as follows:

•  For each type (Wine, Grain, or Cloth), the player who has the most tokens 
scores 10 points.

•  In case of a tie for a type, tied players each score 10 points.  
 

Final Scoring

  Points: 10 0 10 

  Points: 10 10 10 

2-player game example: 
You score 20 points. Blue scores 30 points.

BUILDERS AND PIGS

Builders and pigs are special figures. Before starting the game, add the figures in 
your color to your personal supply.  
These special figures have no impact on step 1. Placing a tile. 

Instead of placing a meeple, you may place your builder on the tile you have 
just placed, but only onto a road or city. Note that there must already be one 
of your own meeples on the feature where you wish to place your builder.

Your builder is always returned to your supply if you no longer have meeples 
on that feature. 

This usually occurs after scoring, but some expansions introduce other ways 
in which this can happen. 

2. Placing your builder

You may place your builder 
onto that road because 
you already have a meeple 
on it.

THE BUILDER

More information regarding the builder
(These are detailed rules regarding the builder. Only read them if you have any 
questions. Even though we only talk about roads, all statements also apply to 
cities. You simply have to replace, where appropriate, “road” with “city” and 
“highwayman” with “knight”.)

•  You may place a meeple on both the first and second tile. If you complete 
the road with the first tile, you may place the newly-recuperated builder 
onto the second tile (see the example below).

•  No chain reactions are possible. If you place the second tile on the 
road with your builder, you do not get to draw a third tile. 

Here is an example that demonstrates the above points. It also clearly shows how to obtain a 
double turn with your builder:

Turn 1 : Place a highwayman.
Turn 2 : Place your builder.

Turn 3a :  You complete the road by placing this tile, on which you also place a knight. Then, 
you score the road allowing you to take back your highwayman and builder.  

Turn 3b :  You place your second tile and place your builder on it.

If you place a Land tile that continues the road or city your builder occupies, 
you may immediately draw and place another Land tile. You place this tile 
following all the normal rules.

1. Placing a Land tile and getting a double turn

A   You place this tile that continues the road that 
your builder occupies.

B   Then, you draw another tile which you place 
as usual. 

AB
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THE PIG

The pig has no impact on tile placement. 
Its special function comes into play during steps 2. Placing a meeple and  
3. Scoring a feature.

1. Placing a tile

The builder has no impact when scoring a feature. Builders are never taken into 
consideration when determining who has the most meeples in a feature. 
However, your builder is returned to your supply along with the meeple when 
the feature it occupies is scored.

3. Scoring a feature

•  As long as the road is incomplete, the builder will stay there, 
allowing you to get a double turn (as described above) the first time 
you add a tile to that road each turn. 

•  During a double turn, you may do the following on each turn: 
1. Place a tile, 2. Place a meeple, and 3. Score a feature.

•  Multiple builders may be on the same road. 

•  There can be any number of tiles between your highwayman and 
your builder.

•  As long as one of your meeples is on the road, your builder will stay 
in place. As soon as have no meeples on the road, return your builder 
to your supply. 

•  Your builder may be placed onto a road, then a city, and so on and 
so forth. However, you may never place your builder onto a monastery 
or a field.

• Features may be scored after the placement of each tile.

You may only place your pig into a field occupied by your farmer. 

2. Placing your pig

Since you have a farmer in 
this field, you may place 

your pig in it.

The bag is also very well suited to carry Carcassonne wherever you go, allowing 
you to share this great game with everyone!

Instead of placing the Land tiles in multiple facedown stacks, you can simply 
put them all in the bag. On your turn, simply draw a tile from the bag and 
then place it as usual.

1. Placing a tile 

Once placed, your pig will stay in its field until game end.  
Your pig allows you to score more points for the field it occupies at game end. 
However, for your pig to be worth any points, you must have the most 
meeples in that field. Unfortunately, the pig itself is not counted for majority.
If you have majority in the field with your pig, you score 4 points (instead of 
3) for each completed city that borders that field. Pigs belonging to other 
players have no impact on your scoring.

Note: You are also considered to have the majority (i.e., most meeples) even 
if you share the majority with another player.

3. Final scoring - Scoring fields with pigs in them

You have the most meeples 
in this field. Since your pig is 
in this field, you will score 
4 points per completed 
bordering city.  
You score 8 points for 
2 completed cities.  
Blue does not have the most 
meeples and scores no points.

THE BAG

Contests, events, and more! Visit Carcassonne on Facebook and join the community at:  
https://www.facebook.com/CarcassonneTheBoardGame
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Traders & Builders

THE NEW LAND TILES

The new Land tiles depict new landscape elements that are explained below.  
These visual features have no impact on steps 1. Placing a tile, 2. Placing 
a meeple, and 3. Scoring a feature.

The bridge is not a junction. One road continues from left 
to right, while the other goes from top to bottom. The roads 
split the field into 4 separate fields.

A copy of CARCASSONNE is required to play this expansion.  
You may integrate it fully or partially. It may also be combined  

with other CARCASSONNE expansions.

COMPONENTS

• 24 Land tiles (marked with )  
including 9 with Wine, 6 with Grain,  
and 5 with Cloth

• 20 Goods tokens  
(9x Wine, 6x Grain, and 5x Cloth)

• 6 Builders

• 6 Pigs • 1 Bag

SETUP

Shuffle the new Land tiles with those from the base game (and any other 
expansions you wish to use). Place them in multiple stacks, as usual.  
Place the Goods tokens as a general supply within easy reach of all players.


